8

Some say that 8 is one of lucky numbers besides 7, 9 and 10. Nonetheless, I am not a type of person that groups something without any valuations. I treat all numbers similarly, unless number 7 since it is my birth date😛. Why is it 8? Because, most of operating systems I installed recently are 8 version.

After struggling on updating all operating systems on my gadgets and computers, at last I successfully upgrading all of them. iPad Air and Lumia 1020 phone were the easiest to be updated. They are now installed the iOS 8 and WP 8.1, respectively. The hardest one was upgrading my laptop. I missed whole data in my external hard disk including the files that I was working on and must be submitted in no time. Thank God that my client understood my condition after I had emailed him that I would send the report longer than expected due to the missing files. The culprit was the Disk Utility app on Mac that wiped out all files in my external hard disk that is designated for Mac only. WTF Apple! If I was an American, I could sue you!!!

I did not want to make any silly mistake all over again by using the Apple’s buggy Disk Utility app, until I finished my 2014 last job as a credit analyst. After I finished the job by Tuesday, today I lowered the risk tolerance of the buggy Disk Utility app. I backed up, all files beforehand in an untouched hard disk. You can imagine how big is my all files now compared to 1 TB in my external hard disk that had “successfully” erased by the Apple app? It is not more than 500MB. So this is the keys take out to upgrade my mid-2011 (latest) white unibody MacBook to OS X Yosemite and Windows 8.1.

It is better for you to back up all files with Time Capsule or manually to your external hard disk. I suggest you to install the OS X from the scratch rather than upgrading it from the previous OS X. After you downloaded the OS X Yosemite from App Store, you download the DiskMaker app to create a bootable hard disk or usb flash drive.

Now you got the OS X in your flash drive. Restart the MacBook and don’t forget to hit the option button on your keyboard while restarting. Select the OS X Yosemite installer drive then hit Return button. You’ll get the screen of installation. Go to Utility and select Disk Utility. Erase the drive in which your current OS X installed to create a clean OS X Yosemite installation. In my case, I removed all partitions and create one partition only. Close the app and then back to OS X installation window. Follow the instructions and in my experience, I had no any problems.

Now, install the Windows 8.1 on MacBook. You can not install Windows 8.1 using BootCamp Assistant app from OS X Yosemite. Luckily, the new OS X supports the so-called EFI booting, meaning that you need no BootCamp again to install Windows. Assuming you have a bootable DVD of Windows 8.1 now. Before you install the Windows, go to Disk Utility (be careful, even if you were doing it well, you were exposed to the risk of missing all files) and add one partition and format it with FAT format (remember this, it should be FAT). Restart your Mac then hit Option button while restarting. Hit Windows installation CD and then the installation window would be appeared. Follow the instruction until it asks where to install Windows. Select the FAT partition that you’ve created beforehand then format it with NTFS, if it asks to. Then you follow the remaining instructions. Be sure, if your Mac is restarting, hit Option button and select Windows (not Windows installer DVD) to reboot.

Everything would go smooth until now. You successfully installed OS X 10.10 Yosemite and Windows 8.1.

The problem will emerge when you create another partition in Mac hard disk. I did create a new partition for files with ExFAT format in order to be able to be accessed from both OS X Yosemite and Windows 8.1. OS X doesn’t allow you to edit files in NTFS format (unless you’re using Paragon app) as well as Windows doesn’t allow you to edit files in EXT format. So the only format that can be accessed by both OS X and Windows is ExFAT. Once you created the additional partition, you would broke the Windows booting. You can not enter to your Windows. The problem could be tackled by booting into Windows installer DVD and repair Windows. Tada…. you are now can boot to Windows. But wait… can you boot the OS X now. Hell yeah… There will appear an error message that Mac could not boot the OS X. What you can do is nothing. Because, it will resolve by itself and Mac is now enter to OS X.

You have a perfect Mac now that you can boot to OS X and Windows perfectly.

If you use the same MacBook with me, you’ll get no drivers available for Windows 8. You can use the BootCamp of mid-2011 MacBook for Windows 7. When you hit setup.exe file to install BootCamp, you’ll be prompted by incompatible installer. The massage will persistent prompting but you have to persistent install it. You’ll get lucky!

Thats it!

Leave a Reply

